Wednesday, June 2, 2010

The Telling

The Telling
by Beverly Lewis

This is the third and final book in the Seasons of Grace series by Beverly Lewis. The series is set around an Amish family in Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania and is a story of God’s provision and redemption.

In the first two books Lettie Byler left her family without any explanation for Ohio to find the missing piece of the life she left when she was a teenager. The third installment starts with Lettie’s daughter in Pennsylvania, Grace Byler, setting out on a quest to find her missing mother and to bring her home.

Grace takes a ride with an “Englisher” named Heather Nelson who’d recently been diagnosed with cancer and is going to Ohio to attend an alternative treatment facility.

Will mother, daughter, and one seriously ill “Englisher” find what they are looking for?

Every Beverly Lewis book is good and this one is no exception. Beverly offers a glimpse into the life of the reclusive Amish people that are so easily misunderstood. The Telling is simple yet deep as it unfolds and illustrates covering up our mistakes only makes situations worse than had we owned up to them in the first place.

I listened to the audio version of this book and really liked that there was a different voice for each character. The Amish characters even had a traditional Amish accent which gave a certain authenticity to these characters.

Favorite Quote:
"Sighing, I knew in my heart I was willing to put up with any awkwardness-even fear-if it meant bringing mama home"

I reviewed this audiobook for review from
Learn about Beverly HERE
Buy the book HERE

Rating: 5 carats

No comments: